Skip to main content

Football records

 Record Group
Identifier: UA-4.3.1

Scope and Contents

The records of the Football Office consist of subject files from Hugh “Duffy” Daugherty time as head coach. Most of the records deal with various All-Star and regular season games. The All-Star game files consist of correspondence relating to the planning of the games, particularly to the involvement of Daugherty as a coach or to the selection of Michigan State University players. The regular season games are organized by the name of opponent. Materials include routine correspondence between coaches, travel lists of players, playing times, and the assignment of officials. Also of interest are several folders containing Intercollegiate Conference (Big Ten) memoranda. These memoranda, which were sent by the Conference office to all head coaches, deal with such issues as officiating, recruiting and rule changes.


  • Creation: 1913 - 2012


Conditions Governing Access

Collection is open for research except for one folder of confidential correspondence which is restricted.

Conditions Governing Use

Permission to publish material from this collection must be obtained from University Archives & Historical Collections, Michigan State University.

Historical Note

The football program at Michigan State University began as a club in 1895 and became a varsity sport in 1896. The first head football coach was appointed in 1897. The football program has participated as a member of Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (1896-1906), Independent (1907-1948) and Big Ten (from 1949). Head Coaches: Henry Keep 1897–1898 Charles Bemies 1899–1900 George Denham 1901–1902 Chester Brewer 1903–1910, 1917, 1919 John Macklin 1911–1915 Frank Sommers 1916 George Gauthier 1918 George Clark 1920 Albert Barron 1921–1922 Ralph H. Young 1923–1927 Harry Kipke 1928 Jim Crowley 1929–1932 Charlie Bachman 1933–1942, 1944–1946 Clarence Munn 1947–1953 Duffy Daugherty 1954–1972 Denny Stolz 1973–1975 Darryl Rogers 1976–1979 Muddy Waters 1980–1982 George Perles 1983–1994 Nick Saban 1995–1999 Bobby Williams 2000–2002 Morris Watts 2002 John L. Smith 2003–2006 Mark Dantonio 2007–2019 Mel Tucker 2020-present


4.0 Cubic Feet

Language of Materials


Legal Status

Donor(s) have transferred any applicable copyright to Michigan State University but the collection may contain third-party materials for which copyright was not transferred. Copyright restrictions may apply. Property Rights: Michigan State University.

Football (Intercollegiate Athletics) Records
4 Published And Cataloged
William McDaid
June 1982
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives and Historical Collections Repository

Conrad Hall
943 Conrad Road, Room 101
East Lansing MI 48824 US